Gounod’s Petite Symphonie | Klassique Series


Gabriele von DürckheimPart of the Online Klein Karoo Klassique Concert Series, the KKNK presents a performance of Charles Gounod’s Petite Symphonie.

This ‘little symphony’ in B-flat for Wind Nonet was premiered in Gounod’s hometown of Paris, in 1885, at the Salle Pleyel. Gounod studied at the Paris Conservatoire and won the prestigious Prix de Rome when he was 21. He went on to compose sacred works including a mass, as well as the opera Faust and several orchestral works. Petite Symphonie, only published in 1904, well after his death, has four movements alive with melody, including the second movement which could be seen as an aria for flute. Gounod wrote it at the instigation of his friend, Paul Taffanel, who is widely viewed as the founder of the modern French school of flute playing.

The concert features Gabriele von Dürckheim on flute, Lisa White and Caren Bam on oboe, Daniel Prozesky and Annelize de Villiers on clarinet, Brandon Phillips and Simon Ball on bassoon and Caroline Prozesky and Conrad van der Westhuizen on the horn.

The Klein Karoo Klassique Concert Series, going online for the first time, focuses this year on the CPO, with its musicians playing three out of four concerts within the series. Each concert is available for streaming on the Thursday until midnight the following Monday, and performances can be viewed more than once during this time.

Streaming: TBA
Cost: R75 | R300 Package for all four concerts
Time: 6pm

book tickets

Tel: 0442038600
Email: info@kknk.co.za
Website: www.kknk.co.za
Facebook: @KKNKfees
Twitter: @KKNKfees

Leave A Comment